Reviews written by Admin

58 results - showing 31 - 40 1 2 3 4 5 6 Results per page:
 
Malibu Kayaks
 
Overall Rating of this Kayak For Fishing. 
 
5.0
Admin Reviewed by Admin    November 26, 2009

X-Factor @ 18 months

I purchased an X-Factor as a first kayak because I wanted the stability to keep a beginner right side up while learning how to catch fish and paddle at the same time. I also own property on Pamlico Sound so wanted a ship able to handle rough water. At 6' and 180lbs I'm on the small side for an X-factor guy. Here are my observations after a year and a half: First off the kayak is a brute. Balance is everything when cartopping or carting.It is also large once you are seated. I don't know that I would recommend it to someone much shorter than myself as it is a long way to rod holders and front hatches.I'm flexible and creative. (2)The rigging options are nearly limitless. (3)Tracks extremely well W/O rudder. I spend most of my time trolling(2 rods) and believe a rudder would be a waste of $.(4)Handles rough water extremely well. I've had it conditions that were sending small boats for cover without any issues.(5)A very dry ride even with 30 lbs of gear on board. 5 star big guy kayak
Reviewer: Bruce Burton from Tulsa Oklahoma

Was this review helpful to you? 
65
Report this review
Malibu Kayaks
 
Overall Rating of this Kayak For Fishing. 
 
4.0
Admin Reviewed by Admin    November 26, 2009

X-13 Rocket

I consider it a rocket cause for a 13'10" length, it can hang with the longer boys quite well. Dig mine cause it's got a huge open hatch up front that allows you to stuff rods, seat, pfd, and paddle into it for transport like a suit case. It "punches" through chop and not so much over it. It sits low in the water so wind cocking is very minimum. Very manuverable also. Tracks extremely well due to the nice keel down the middle. I have mine ruddered cause of where I paddle, Lower Laguna Madre in Padre Island Texas area and the winds blow 10-20 mph pretty consistantly. The plastic is thick and tough. Very, very good yak to own if you want something a little shorter than the 15-16ft rockets on the bay these days.
Reviewer: Dave from Edinburg, TX

Was this review helpful to you? 
101
Report this review
Malibu Kayaks
 
Overall Rating of this Kayak For Fishing. 
 
5.0
Admin Reviewed by Admin    November 26, 2009

Malibu X-13,

Hello, I have just purchased Malibu Kayak's X-13 and would like to post a brief review. Malibu have removed the forward fish well and scupper in their design and the hatch now opens to the interior of the Kayak. However, this alleviates the need to install a bulkhead hatch for equipment stowage. One of the selling points that prompted my decision to buy this Kayak was the forward fish well and to say the least I was a little disappointed. The base model comes without the flush-mount rod holders, however, if you are a little handy these are relatively easy to install. I did like the fact that it comes rigged forward and aft with bungees and the gator hatch have two additional straps (I have seen some with only two straps) on the sides standard. While there isn't a trolley system, this leaves the option of placing the system where you want it without excess holes from unwanted placement. Although, there is a modest amount of water leaking through the hatch, I feel that the X-13 is a solid and sexy Kayak and with the use of the seat scupper plugs provided, quite a dry ride. It tracks well, is very quick, and even for a novice such as myself, easy to turn. All in all, the X-13 is quite lovely and I recommend it to anyone looking for a good fishing Yak.
Reviewer: Richard Lowrey from Merritt Island, Florida

Was this review helpful to you? 
30
Report this review
Malibu Kayaks
 
Overall Rating of this Kayak For Fishing. 
 
4.0
Admin Reviewed by Admin    November 26, 2009

Mini-X,

Have used the Mini-X for three years. Excellent small fishing platform. Used in open bay and back water. Good in boat wakes and small to medium waves. Excellent hatch covers...toggle type....twist and lock. Light weight for car topping. Short length for hauling with station wagon. Very satisfied.
Reviewer: Jgpaddler from Long Island, NY

Was this review helpful to you? 
40
Report this review
Malibu Kayaks
 
Overall Rating of this Kayak For Fishing. 
 
4.0
Admin Reviewed by Admin    November 26, 2009

Great little boat

I purchased two of these great little boats 2 years ago and have run the wheels off of them every sense. I fish mostly small rivers and creeks here in Kansas and the Mini is the ideal boat for this. I fished for years from a canoe with my brother but now fish alone much of the time and these boats are small enough and light enough for one person to easily handle on and off the water. At 38 pounds I can carry it alone or load my gear and drag it pretty much anywhere that I can walk and believe me I have had it in some pretty harry spots. It was easy and a lot of fun to set up and I have it rigged to carry up to 5 rods. There is enough room inside for everything I need to do overnight camping trips.
The wife and kids also love them and when I am not fishing from them they like to just paddle around and sight see. I have had them out on some of the bigger lakes around here and they are pretty stable for being as small as they are but I would not say they are the best choice for big water. The only other down side is that they do not track all that well. If you are trying to get any speed out of them they will not glide straight in my experience. As long as you keep them in the environment that they were designed for they shine like a diamond. If you fish Ponds, small lakes, small rivers and creeks you should own one of these boats or heck maybe even two.
Reviewer: Kansas Tree Rat from N.E. Kansas USA

Was this review helpful to you? 
50
Report this review
Eddyline Kayaks
 
Overall Rating of this Kayak For Fishing. 
 
4.0
Admin Reviewed by Admin    November 26, 2009

My Phoenix 140

Who ever heard of a "dry" SOT kayak? It is a meaningless feature to rate. However, a drain hole in the seating area for the Phoenix 140 would be an improvement.

Something left out of the survey is handling out of the water. My Phoenix 140 weighs 54 pounds, which makes it extremely easy to pickup, move around and load on top of my SUV by myself. The middle handles need to be relocated, though, as they are aft of the center of gravity.
It tracks beautifully and can be paddled effortlessly even with a headwind, without the need for a rudder. Rigging for fishing is a little "unnatural" as it lacks the flat decking other yaks have. It would be useful to have molded-in "pockets" to hold lures, etc. While reasonably stable, I have not been able to stand in it for poling or fishing. One safety improvement would be to add factory-installed foam flotation forward and aft. I have added 8 foam "noodles" within the hull to make up for this deficiency.
Overall, I am delighted with my yak
Reviewer: Santiago from Orlando, FL

Was this review helpful to you? 
01
Report this review
Eddyline Kayaks
 
Overall Rating of this Kayak For Fishing. 
 
3.0
Admin Reviewed by Admin    November 26, 2009

Bought Used Phoenix 120

I bought this used and it has done the trick for lakes but looking for a bigger kayak so I can take it to the salt. I paddle with my buddy adn he has an Ocean Kayak P13 and it smokes me in speed. I only paid $350 so I can't complain but I will upgrade soon. I can just about one hand this kayak on top of my car so that is nice.
Reviewer: Roy from Houston, TX

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Hobie Kayaks
 
Overall Rating of this Kayak For Fishing. 
 
5.0
Admin Reviewed by Admin    November 26, 2009

Love the Hobie Outback

After several years of fishing on Ocean Kayaks I purchased a Hobie Outback. While I liked the Ocean's, there is no comparison to a Hobie Peddle Kayak for fishing. It handle the Ocean and Flats great.Most importantly, I catch alot of fish!
Reviewer: Michael D'Addio from Delray Beach, Florida

Was this review helpful to you? 
102
Report this review
Hobie Kayaks
 
Overall Rating of this Kayak For Fishing. 
 
5.0
Admin Reviewed by Admin    November 26, 2009

wife's boat

I bought an Outback for my wife and she loves it. I took it out on a windy day and it cut thru the waves and wind like a pro. I now have a fishing partner that lets me go fishing any time I want. I have a Quest and like it but you can't beat fishing hands free while getting a work out in.

Reviewer: Bob Mitchell from Lafayette La

Was this review helpful to you? 
50
Report this review
Hobie Kayaks
 
Overall Rating of this Kayak For Fishing. 
 
5.0
Admin Reviewed by Admin    November 26, 2009

The Outback

Being a plus sized female at about 5 foot 6 and 240 lbs the thought of buying my first yak after never kayaking before was intimidating. I did as much research as I could, did a trial run and loved it. My primary use will be for lake and calmer river fishing. I've found it easy to rig and a breeze to peddle. My first tirp I spent over 3 hours peddling around the lake with no problems whatsoever. I'm very happy with my purchase and would definitely buy another one. My only comments are I wish they had thought out a little more to make it easier to get the scupper cart back under the yak when you are done for the day. I hate having to hassle around with it, wound up having to unload my stuff at the shore to turn the boat on it's side to put the scupper cart in to transport back to my truck. It needs more places standard to tie things to. It would be great if they could get the price down, $1749 plus extras really hurts - would have a lot more Hobie friends out there if they did.
Reviewer: Patricia Casey from Southwestern Pennsylvania

Was this review helpful to you? 
50
Report this review
58 results - showing 31 - 40 1 2 3 4 5 6 Results per page:
Powered by JReviews

Login

Newsletter

Subscribe here to receive FREE email issues of Kayak Fishing Magazine.

Latest Kayak Reviews

Lifetime Sport Fisher
 
5.0
Cobra Kayaks Tandem
 
3.0
Perception Sport Pescador 10.0 Angler
 
4.0
Hobie Mirage Outback
 
4.0
Current Designs Tailfin
 
5.0
Hobie Mirage Outback
 
2.0
NuCanoe Frontier 12
 
5.0
Native Watercraft Mariner 12.5 Propel Anglers
 
4.0
Hobie Mirage Outback
 
5.0
Pelican Castaway 100
 
2.0
Stealth Pro Fisha 575
 
3.0
Field and Stream Eagle Talon
 
5.0

Latest Equipment Reviews

Body Glove 3T Barefoot Max
 
5.0
Body Glove 3T Barefoot Warrior
 
5.0
Body Glove 3T Barefoot Warrior
 
3.0
Columbia Drainmaker
 
5.0
Sperry SON-R Sounder Shandal
 
4.0
Garmin VIRB Elite
 
4.0
Polaroid XS100
 
4.0
Backwater Paddles Assault Hand Paddle
 
5.0
Backwater Paddles Assault Hand Paddle
 
5.0
Stohlquist Piseas
 
4.0
Wheeleez Tuff Tire Kayak Cart
 
5.0
Boga Grip
 
4.0